you're reading...
Skinny Eats and Drinks in DC

Belga Brunch

image

DC has its fare share of Belgian eateries, each with its own take on mussels and pommes frites and of course the Belgian waffle, or gaufre. A popular place in the Eastern Market neighborhood, Belga Cafe rarely offers up anything but superb items from the kitchen. I found myself there for brunch this weekend, eagerly anticipating having a delicious gaufre for brunch.

My waffle this weekend however was not what I was hoping for. Served with berries and whipped cream, I made a point of telling my brunch buddies that it would be a crime to even think about adding syrup, only to find that the cinnamon infused syrup was the only solution to make the waffle go down with even a hint of flavor!
Where was my Belgian gaufre, with the lumps of sugar and sweet flavor? A version of it appeared on our neighbor’s table, however in a salty version with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes. Knowing that the special events, outdoor seating, beer selection and pommes frites will have me coming back, I may need to clarify this waffle issue with our server to make sure I order the right gaufre next time around.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Skinny Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

