you're reading...
Skinny Eats and Drinks in DC

Oh la la les crepes!

image

image

I love the midtown-logan circle-u street area with all its charming boutiques and restaurants. Despite being a frequent weekend night time visitor in the neighborhood, I just recently finally made it to Point Chaud, Cafe & Crepes almost a year after it opened of 14th Street NW. Back in the summer of 2010 I made eating at Point Chaud part of my DC bucket list, which is now one item shorter, hooray!

The space is fairly small, with crepes, coffee and quiche on the menu. The list of crepes is lenghty, but I sheepishly admit that I had to pull out my glasses to be able to read the menu on the wall above the register, and I only use my glasses when I drive a car!

Feeling a little annoyed with the size 8 font of the menu, I quickly decided on a safe bet: chocolate and raspberries. I was denied whipped cream because the order was for take out…*sigh*… while I waited for my order, I had a chance to look around. The place was busy, with two girls chatting over coffee, a family with kids at another table and the usual cafe dwellers present and accounted for with laptops and magazines. I’m not sure if the colorful walls and poster art hanging on the wall add to the authentic french creperie feeling that I was looking for, but the chairs and tables certanly evoke a little bit of that atmosphere imported from France.

The crepe, however, was to me as authentic as they come. I liked the texture and loved the flavor. The raspberries where fresh and not mushy, the chocolate was a thick paste and kept its soft consistency until the very last bite. Which- by the way- I finished in a state of utter crepe induced bliss, completely forgetting that I had promised my friend the last bite.
Sacre bleu! That means we will have to come back 😉

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Skinny Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

