you're reading...
Skinny gets crafty

Christmas crafts part 1: at home

Any seasonal holiday is a great time to get crafty. My glossy magazines both inspire and depress me as I wish I had more time to create, craft and decorate. These two ideas were quick, easy and budget friendly.image

I purchased a simple green wreath at the Dupont Farmers Market, feeling great about supporting a local small business. I already had some green floral wire, pine cones and masses of decorative pieces from Michael’s which I scored for just a few dollars at a garage sale this summer.

Starting with the pine cones and larger decorations, I filled in the wreath until I was happy with how it looked. It may not have looked as amazing as the designer wreaths in my glossy magazines, but cute enough to adorn our front door with a unique and personal design.

image

I love that friends and family still send Christmas cards. This year I used a blank wall in our kitchen to display the cards. I put one of my many rolls of ribbon to good use, cutting a V at the top and bottom and mounting the ribbon to the wall with glue dots. I used the same glue dots for the cards, and kept them handy in the kitchen for easy and quick access when new cards would arrive in the mail. Simple and easy yet very festive!

image

image

Discussion

One thought on “Christmas crafts part 1: at home

  1. I love that wreath! So creative 🙂

    Posted by Jessie | December 27, 2011, 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

Skinny Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

