you're reading...
Skinny gets crafty

Fun fact: Find Skinnytobeindc in Good Housekeeping

How getting crafty in 2010 led to a picture in the July 2012 issue of Good Housekeeping

image

I love tearing out pages from magazines for my inspiration binders. The July2010 issue of Good Housekeeping was one that I kept intact- there was no point in ripping out each page of the magazine as each page was filled with ideas for decorations, recipes, tricks and tricks for the best of 4th of July entertaining.

The flag wreath proved to be my favorite. It was easy to make and looked unlike any other wreath I could purchase in DC. I was so excited about the wreath in fact, that I sent a picture to the staff at Good Housekeeping with my thanks for so many wonderful ideas.

This summer, out of the blue, I received an email about the picture I sent in- an excerpt from the email is included here for your reading pleasure:

Dear Bianca,

I’m an editor at Good Housekeeping. In 2010, you emailed GH a very personal thank you note for that summer’s Fourth of July decorations— our editors were so touched that we printed and saved it (and the picture of the flag wreath you made!). Two years later, while working on the upcoming summer issues, your note was brought to our staff’s attention again. With your permission, we’d love to feature you and your craft. 

Our team would be very grateful if you would resend the digital copy of you and the patriotic wreath that hung from your front door— the only copy left in our office is a black and white paper print-out!

A few emails later and with the July issue out, I was delighted to find the picture included at the bottom of page 10. The issue features some great ideas as usual and I’ll be sure to tear out pages for my inspiration binders- starting with page 10 of course!

The wreath is easy and inexpensive to make. All you need is a Styrofoam wreath from a crafts store, American flag cocktail sticks and ribbon. The ribbon was something I added- let me know if you come up with additional variations! Get  more ideas for decorations and wreath making at the Good Housekeeping website here. Happy crafting!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Fun fact: Find Skinnytobeindc in Good Housekeeping

  1. Um excuse me but this is totally amazing! Congrats my crafty sister! Gotta run out an buy a copy of the mag!
    xo
    B

    Posted by brea ellis (@breaellis) | June 30, 2012, 11:43 pm
  2. Thank you Brea, you are too sweet!

    Posted by skinnytobeindc | July 3, 2012, 10:06 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Put a Cork in It: Cork DIY Projects Inspiration « French Twist D.C. - May 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

Skinny Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

