you're reading...
Skinny gets crafty

Chandelier project

I love crafts, and I wish I had the time and the talent to be Martha Jr. Instead, I’m the copy-cat crafter who rips through magazines for ideas and inspiration. This is something I usually love and enjoy doing, but I think the craft craze sparked by Pinterest made me really, really, really want to make something original, inspired by me, just me.

At home, I had covered up an ugly fuse box with an old mirror from my college days (yes…gasp!). It had a boring wooden frame and made me miserable every time I saw it. I decided I would focus my crafting energy on this mirror and transform it, somehow, into something more fun for the house.

A few ideas that came to mind were:

  • Paint the mirror part with chalkboard paint= chalkboard for the kitchen
  • Paint the mirror with magnetic paint= magnetic board for the office
  • Paint the mirror with gray paint…then stencil something on it….but what?

I headed to Michael’s and found the Martha Stewart craft paints section and picked out paint from the Multi-surface Satin Acrylic Paint line for the frame and the mirrored glass. This line is great to use on multiple surfaces and it was tough to pick colors ( I wanted them all!). I finally decided on Pea Shoot and Couscous ( sounds yummy, doesn’t it?). To create the gray background, I purchased the Krylon Short Cuts craft spray paint in Antique Bronze. 

I found a cool stencil across the aisle along with some paint brushes and sponges that I thought  looked appropriate for the task at hand. I omitted to look at any online tutorials on how to stencil, that’s how excited I was about my project. I don’t, however, recommend going at this kind of project without checking out a few tutorials- while it’s not rocket science, I will be using better technique and better tools for my next project.

Back at home, I pried the mirrored glass part off the frame and to my surprise found that the back of the mirror was already the perfect shade of gray (no pun intended here…). I moved right along to painting the frame and stenciling. It took 3 layers of paint to achieve the look I was going for- plan on dedicating a few hours to painting, then waiting…..the painting again….and waiting….and then…putting it all together for the final reveal. I made a few mistakes along the way and my boyfriend is not crazy about this particular craft, but it’s a start and I have a few more ideas when it comes to stencils…so stay tuned for more craft projects!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Chandelier project

  1. Can’t see why he’s not crazy about this one, it does complement this corner of your place perfectly. I like the simplicity of this project as this something I find difficult to achieve whenever I’m crafting… there’s always more of this and that I’m tempted to try out. Perhaps for this one I would go for my favourite modelling paste plus paint to create a 3d (relief like) effect… 🙂

    Posted by craftingbydominique | August 30, 2012, 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Skinny Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

