you're reading...
Skinny Eats and Drinks in DC

Feastly for Foodies

A few weeks ago, I managed to reserve a spot for a Sunday lunch with people I don’t know at a stranger’s house. Oh, you know, just another Feastly event: ‘Lunch with BakeHouse and Los Verracos’. What is Feastly? How does it work? How can I get involved? These were questions that I had to find an answer to when I spotted the first mention of a Feastly event on Twitter. I read this article and with answers in hand, it was soon my turn to tweet with joy about my upcoming lunch.

While I was excited, le boyfriend was a little more anxious and casually hollered at me on my way out: ‘Maybe you should take the pepper spray with you just in case?’  Turns out, no pepper spray was needed. No regular pepper was needed either for that matter- the food was delicious from start to finish and the people gathered  were fun and interesting greater DC inhabitants.

Our gracious hosts of BakeHouse are getting ready to launch their bakery in the U street neighborhood at 14th and T NW later this fall/winter. We were treated to a sneak peek of what’s to come, and I already know I will do my best to be first in line to snag more goodies once the doors open! The solid team begind Los Verracos is not to be overlooked for your catering needs. The crowd favorite seemed to be the Malaysian Watermelon and Pork Belly salad with it’s intense sweet yet savory combination of flavors. Those who stayed late were rewarded with take-home boxes and each guest was treated to a take home favor (a sweet chocolate cupcake) in adorable BakeHouse boxes. With such a sweet sendoff, I can’t wait for my next Feastly meal!

More about Feastly on their blog , Twitter and on the web

Find BakeHouse on the web, Twitter , Facebook

Check out Los Verracos on Twitter , Facebook and the web

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Skinny Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

